• CURD JÜRGENS AND MONEY

    Reminiscences of Marcel M. Meier

REMINISCENCES OF MARCEL M. MEIER

The relationship between client and financial-adviser has to be unobtrusive and discrete by its very nature. If I have made the decision to reveal a few of my memories it, is because Curd Jürgens was a thoroughly likeable and humorous man who I remember with pleasure.

A reporter once asked Curd Jürgens if, in light of his socialist stance he didn’t have reservations about making a lot of money. “I have never shied away from making money. It is my perfect right to do so,” was his reply. “I work a great deal – a great deal more than others in my profession.”

Jürgens was a huge talent and he worked hard. I do not need to highlight the 141 films that he made, the countless stage appearances worldwide and his considerable income from television. Moreover, the wages wore considerably less than today.

When he was approached by Maxwell House Coffee about a television advert, the first thing he did was to consult his fellow actor David Niven, who like him had a house in Gstaad in Switzerland. “Why not?” was his answer. “It’s time to cash in, my friend.”

Curd Jürgens as an advertising figure

When he was approached by Maxwell House Coffee about a television advert, the first thing he did was to consult his fellow actor David Niven, who like him had a house in Gstaad in Switzerland. “Why not?” was his answer. “It’s time to cash in, my friend.”

Gruebehus, Gstaad

The many trips, the countless receptions and parties, presents to friends and female partners – Jürgens was always generous – these consumed a considerable amount of capital. As well as playing golf, he loved to build houses, to picture in his mind’s eye how beautiful a room, a walkway or a terrace had to be in order for it to be truly enjoyed. And so he had a fold-up table mounted by the terrace railings of his house in Gstaad so that people could sit there together and enjoy the wonderful view of the landscape of the Bernese Alps.

In the course of his life Curd Jürgens designed houses that were also built. He frequently came back home from a trip to America as the owner of a new piece of land that he had bought with an eye to his “architectural ambitions.” He had probably been most successful with his home in St. Paul-de-Vence; in any case, it was one of his favourite residences.

When challenged about the luxury of his many houses, he liked to answer with a quotation from Montesquieu: “It’s all about luxury. Were the rich not to be lavish, the poor would starve.”

Jürgens wanted a safe haven for his finances. In contrast to his hectic life, he always wanted financial security, particularly in his later years, for his younger wife Margie. He wanted her to be able to live without financial worries after his death. Consequently, money was regularly invested in real estate, in particular in buy-to-rent houses in Zürich and its immediate surroundings. This was in accordance with the beliefs of his French mother who had taught him from an early age that only land and property could guarantee security along with a simultaneous increase in assets. When at the end of the 1970s the yields on real estate began to diminish, he started to sell. The resulting capital was mostly invested conservatively – in bonds and blue chip shares. The securities were a long-term goal and the upshot was that considerable profits accrued without constant transcription.

Jürgens was utterly opposed to any form of debt, even if it was only land charges. In addition, he knew that sometime every loan had to be repaid even when film earnings didn’t materialise. He didn’t want to have this burden. He wanted to be free and independent. Having debts on the properties where he lived privately would have robbed him of his oft-needed peace of mind during his moments of leisure. Although generous by nature, Curd Jürgens was always conversant with all his receipts and expenditures and on the state of his finances. He had great confidence in his advisers – lawyers, property managers and financial advisers. He concentrated on the acting job in hand and hoped not to be disappointed by his associates.

Our collaboration lasted many years and was one based on trust and respect. Sadly it came to an end in 1982 when, in Istanbul, I received a fax from my secretary informing me that his struggle against death was over. I remembered our last meeting in Zurich when we talked about poverty and wealth. During the course of the conversation Curd Jürgens quoted the Roman philosopher Seneca:

“It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves too much, who is poor.”

Marcel M. Meier

In: Hans-Peter Reichmann (ed.): Curd Jürgens. Frankfurt am Main 2000/2007 (Kinematograph No. 14)

Great Harbour Cay, Bahamas, 1970s

• Curd Jürgens und das Geld

ERINNERUNGEN VON MARCEL M. MEIER

Das Verhältnis zwischen Kunde und Finanzberater muss schon von der Sache her unauffällig und diskret sein. Wenn ich mich entschlossen habe, einige Erinnerungen preiszugeben, so deshalb, weil Curd Jürgens ein überaus liebenswürdiger, humorvoller Mensch war, an den ich gerne zurückdenke.

Ein Reporter fragte Curd Jürgens einmal, ob er bei seiner sozialistischen Haltung keine Bedenken habe, viel zu verdienen: „Ich habe mich nie gescheut, Geld zu verdienen. Das ist mein gutes Recht. Ich arbeite sehr viel – sehr viel mehr als andere in meinem Beruf“, war seine Antwort.

Jürgens war ein großes Talent und er arbeitete hart. Dass sich bei 141 Filmen, zahlreichen Auftritten auf den Bühnen der ganzen Welt und schließlich auch im Fernsehen erhebliche Einnahmen ergaben, brauche ich nicht hervorzuheben. Allerdings waren die Gagen wesentlich niedriger als heute.

Curd Jürgens als Werbeträger

Als er von der Firma Maxwell Coffee für einen Fernsehspot angefragt wurde, konsultierte er zuerst seinen Schauspielerkollegen David Niven, der wie er ein Haus in Gstaad in der Schweiz besaß. “Why not”, entgegnete ihm dieser, “it’s time to cash in my friend.”

Gruebehus, Gstaad

Die vielen Reisen, die unzähligen Empfänge und Partys, die Geschenke an seine Partnerinnen und Freunde – Jürgens war stets großzügig – verschlangen erhebliche Mittel. Neben dem Golfspielen liebte er es, Häuser zu bauen, sich in seiner Fantasie auszumalen, wie schön ein Raum, Durchgang, eine Terrasse aussehen müsste, damit man sie wirklich genießen konnte. So ließ er am Terrassengeländer seines Hauses in Gstaad einen langen Klapptisch anbringen, hinter dem man zwar nebeneinander saß, von dem aus aber jedermann die ganze traumhafte Aussicht auf die Berner Alpenwelt genießen konnte.

Im Laufe seines Lebens entwarf Curd Jürgens neue Häuser, die auch gebaut wurden. Es kam vor, dass er von einer Amerikareise als Besitzer eines neuen Grundstückes nach Hause kam, das er im Hinblick auf seine „architektonischen Ambitionen“ gekauft hatte. Am besten war ihm wohl sein Heim in St. Paul-de-Vence gelungen, jedenfalls war es einer seiner liebsten Aufenthaltsorte.

Auf den Luxus der vielen Häuser angesprochen, antwortete er gern mit dem Zitat von Montesquieu: „Ohne Luxus geht es nicht. Wenn die Reichen nicht reichlich ausgeben, werden die Armen Hungers sterben“.

 

Was seine Finanzlage betraf, so suchte Jürgens einen sicheren Hafen. Im Gegensatz zu seinem hektischen Leben wollte er stets die finanzielle Sicherheit – in späteren Jahren besonders für seine jüngere Gattin Margie. Er wollte, dass sie nach seinem Tod finanziell sorgenfrei leben könne. Aus diesem Grund wurde laufend Geld in Liegenschaften angelegt, insbesondere in Renditehäusern in zentraler Lage in Zürich und der näheren Umgebung. Dies entsprach ganz besonders der Auffassung seiner französischen Mutter, die ihn früh gelehrt hatte, dass nur Grund und Boden Gewähr für Sicherheit bei gleichzeitiger Vermögensvermehrung biete. Als Ende der 1970er Jahre die Renditen der Liegenschaften kleiner wurden, begann er zu verkaufen. Die daraus resultierenden Mittel wurden zum großen Teil in konservative Anlagen, d.h. Obligationen und Blue-Chip-Aktien investiert. Die Wertschriften waren ein langfristiges Ziel, und es zeigte sich, dass auch ohne laufende Umschriften beachtliche Gewinne erarbeitet werden konnten.

Jürgens war ein absoluter Gegner von Schulden, seien es auch nur „Grundschulden“. Zudem wusste er, dass jeder Kredit einmal zurückbezahlt werden müsse, auch dann, wenn die Erträge aus den Filmen ausblieben. Diese Belastung wollte er nicht. Er wollte frei und unabhängig sein. Schulden auf seinen privat bewohnten Liegenschaften hätten ihm wohl die Unbeschwertheit in der Mußezeit geraubt, die er oft dringend brauchte. Obwohl von Natur aus großzügig, war Curd Jürgens stets über seine Einnahmen und Ausgaben sowie über seine Vermögenslage orientiert. Er brachte seinen Beratern – Anwälte, Liegenschaftsverwalter und Finanzberater – großes Vertrauen entgegen. Er konzentrierte sich auf seine Aufgabe als Schauspieler und hoffte, von seinen Partnern nicht enttäuscht zu werden.

Leider ging unsere langjährige, von großem Vertrauen und Respekt getragene Zusammenarbeit 1982 zu Ende, als ich in Istanbul von meiner Sekretärin ein Fax erhielt, aus dem ich erfuhr, dass sein Ringen mit dem Tod ein Ende gefunden habe. Ich erinnerte mich an unsere letzte Begegnung in Zürich, als wir über Armut und Reichtum diskutierten. Curd Jürgens zitierte bei diesem Gespräch den römischen Philosophen Seneca:

„Arm ist nicht der, der zuwenig hat, sondern der, der zuviel wünscht.“

Marcel M. Meier

In: Hans-Peter Reichmann (Hg.): Curd Jürgens. Frankfurt am Main 2000/2007 (Kinematograph Nr. 14)

Great Harbour Cay, Bahamas, 1970er Jahre